The Fatherless

Today for the first time in my life I felt what it was like to have a man pat my back in accomplishment and not in the creepy way. To elaborate, my father always rubs my back and arms and every time someone else rubs against me I cringe. But today I helped set up the reception for my major and my advisor loved the set up, along with many of the people. I loved the fact that we did it and no one knew we were the ones to have spent the day making it look perfect. Little did he know that pattinv my back would have fulfilled my subconscious need for a father’s acceptance.  My father loves me and is proud of me, but from past mistakes its hard for me to connect to him fully. I want to be wanted. And to see that he appreciated my hard work really impacted my heart. I want him to see I can do this, that I can be an intercultural studies major, that I dont need the credit. I just want him to know I exist, and him see the potential within me. Though this is a personal topic thag might not touch a lot of people maybe someone will read it, and really want give to others. 

~ by banton11 on September 7, 2013.

Leave a comment